Schmidt Trio

Lunchtime Concert | Artists in Residence Series
Museu Romântico | August 9 | 13h00

The Schmidt Trio currently resides in New York City and is in the process of completing their Bachelor’s Degree in Music Performance at New York University. In March 2023, the Schmidt Trio won the Gold Prize in the International Young Artists Competition and made their Carnegie Hall debut in April 2023 with Brahms's Piano Trio No. 1 Op. 8 in B Major. In May 2023, the trio won First Prize in the Charleston International Competition and in June 2024 won First Prize in the International Youth Music Competitions Collegiate Classical Music category. From September to December 2023, the Schmidt Trio was accepted into NYU’s Study Abroad Program in Paris, France. There they had the honor to perform at École normale de musique de Paris, la Fondation des États-Unis, and Maison de l'Île-de-France. The trio was granted the Prix Niki de Saint Phalle for Artistic Excellence presented by Professor Alfred Galichon, director of NYU Paris. This award recognized them for their exceptional creativity, talent and remarkable artistic achievements, showcasing outstanding excellence in artistic expression, and innovation. The Schmidt Trio strongly believes in the representation of young artists and the creation of inclusive environments in the classical music industry. The ensemble takes inspiration from their mentors Giora Schmidt and Naoko Tanaka, who emphasize the importance of young musicians advocating for themselves. In an age where conventional ideologies continue to stand, the trio recognizes the necessity for young artists to actively create their own opportunities to share their passions. They plan to continue producing projects with composers, videographers, photographers, and other rising creatives to mutually support the process of artistic development.

Takashi Yoshimatsu (1953-present)

Atom Hearts Club Piano Trio op. 70d

I. Allegro

Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873-1943)

Trio élégiaque No. 1 in g minor

Cole Reyes (b. 1998)

melt, meld, mold

Claude Debussy (1862-1918)

Piano Trio in G Major, L. 5

I. Andantino con moto allegro

II. Scherzo: Moderato con allegro

III. Andante espressivo

IV. Finale: Appassionato

Buy Ticket

Free Entrance